Children Picture Books

Banner Message

If you have any questions, please call the store at 315-229-5460 during business hours. 

3 LITTLE DASSIES

$17.99
The Three Little Pigs with a twist! In the tradition of her bestseller The Three Snow Bears, Jan Brett finds inspiration for her version of a familiar story in Namibia, where red rock mountains and vivid blue skies are home to appealing little dassies and hungry eagles.

Mimbi, Pimbi and Timbi hope to find "a place cooler, a place less crowded, a place safe from eagles!" to build their new homes. The handsomely dressed Agama Man watches from the borders as the eagle flies down to flap and clap until he blows a house down. But in a deliciously funny twist, that pesky eagle gets a fine comeuppance!

Bold African patterns and prints fill the stunning borders, but it is the dassies in their bright, colorful dresses and hats that steal the show in this irresistible tale, perfect for reading aloud.

ISBN/SKU: 
9780399254994
0
Author: 
Publisher: 

7 Ate 9

$17.99
6 has a problem.
Everyone knows that 7 is always after him. Word on the street is that 7 ate 9. If that's true, 6's days are numbered. Lucky for him, Private I is on the case. But the facts just don't add up.
It's odd.
Will Private I put two and two together and solve the problem . . . or is 6 next in line to be subtracted?
ISBN/SKU: 
9781484717790
0
Author: 
Publisher: 

ADA Twist, Scientist

$17.95
A #1 New York Times Bestseller
A Wall Street Journal Bestseller
A USA Today Bestseller

The creators of the New York Times bestselling picture books Rosie Revere, Engineer and Iggy Peck, Architect are back with a story about the power of curiosity in the hands of a child who is on a mission to use science to understand her world. Ada Twist, Scientist, from powerhouse team Andrea Beaty and David Roberts, is a celebration of STEM, perseverance, and passion.

Like her classmates, builder Iggy and inventor Rosie, scientist Ada, a character of color, has a boundless imagination and has always been hopelessly curious. Why are there pointy things stuck to a rose? Why are there hairs growing inside your nose? When her house fills with a horrific, toe-curling smell, Ada knows it's up to her to find the source. What would you do with a problem like this? Not afraid of failure, Ada embarks on a fact-finding mission and conducts scientific experiments, all in the name of discovery. But, this time, her experiments lead to even more stink and get her into trouble!

Inspired by real-life makers such as Ada Lovelace and Marie Curie, Ada Twist, Scientist champions girl power and women scientists, and brings welcome diversity to picture books about girls in science. Touching on themes of never giving up and problem solving, Ada comes to learn that her questions might not always lead to answers, but rather to more questions. She may never find the source of the stink, but with a supportive family and the space to figure it out, she'll be able to feed her curiosity in the ways a young scientist should.

Iggy Peck and Rosie Revere have earned their places among the most beloved children's characters, and they have inspired countless kids and adults to follow their dreams and passions. Now in her own charming and witty picture book, determined Ada Twist, with her boundless curiosity for science and love of the question "Why?," is destined to join these two favorites. The book is the perfect tool to remind both young girls and women that they have the intelligence and perseverance to achieve their dreams.

ISBN/SKU: 
9781419721373
0
Author: 
Publisher: 

Amanda Panda Quits Kindergarten

product image
$17.99
Kindergarten has never been funnier with the launch of this new, strong-willed character, in the style of Ladybug Girl, Lilly's Purple Plastic Purse, and Bread and Jam for Frances.

Amanda Panda has BIG ideas for her first day of school. But when things don't go according to plan, and when a pesky girl in a pink bow decides to be her best friend, she walks out on kindergarten and joins her brother in second grade. It takes an unlikely partner to fix Amanda's terrible day--and to teach her about friendship, tolerance, and how to cope with life's ups and downs.

Amanda Panda perfectly captures the spirit, motivations, and humor of a headstrong five-year-old girl--and will be sure to soothe back-to-school jitters.

"Empathy and kindness are just as important as ABCs and 123s, and Amanda gives readers a good lesson." --Kirkus

"With strong dialogue and well-imagined details of wardrobe and play, Ransom writes an original story around the familiar situation: the beginning of school. . . . This wryly amusing picture book offers a fresh take on an old theme." --Booklist

"The lesson makes an impact without preaching, and kids are likely to want to revisit this one, especially as the first day of school approaches." --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

ISBN/SKU: 
9780399554551
Publication Date: 
2017-06-20
0

Be Quiet!

$17.99
All Rupert the mouse wants is to star in a beautiful, wordless picturebook. One that's visually stimulating! With scenic pictures! And style! He has plenty of ideas about what makes a great book, but his friends just WON'T. STOP. TALKING. Children and adults alike will chuckle at this comedic take on bookmaking from acclaimed author-illustrator Ryan T. Higgins. Praise for Mother Bruce E. B. White Read-Aloud Award Ezra Jack Keats New Illustrator Honor * "[W]ry text and marvelously detailed pictures juxtapose uproariously. . .Visually beautiful, clever, edgy, and very funny."
-Kirkus, starred review
* "Ryan T. Higgins's illustrations are extraordinary. . . . [A] hilarious, artful picture book with a nod to foodies great and small."
-Shelf Awareness, starred review
ISBN/SKU: 
9781484731628
Publication Date: 
2017-04-04
0
Author: 
Publisher: 

Bill the Cat Story: A Bloom County Epic

$18.99
The Pulitzer Prize-winning creator of the hilarious "Bloom County" comic strip is back! To help celebrate, here is the first ever Bloom County picture book, featuring fan-favorite Bill the Cat in an origin story. (Ack ack!) The perfect gift for Bloomers old and new.

An Amazon Best Book of the Year and NY Times bestseller!

Almost thirty-five years ago Berkeley Breathed launched a little-known yet laugh-inducing comic strip called "Bloom County" that was full of characters who instantly entered the public consciousness--none more so than Opus (the penguin) and Bill the Cat. Bloom County's popularity soared, it was soon syndicated nationally, had millions of daily readers, and before long its creator was awarded a Pulitzer Prize. Then, nine years later, "Bloom County" sadly came to a close. It had simply ceased being fun for Berkeley Breathed.

Now, more than twenty-five years after it ended, "Bloom County" has returned in full force and humor online, with an ever-growing fanbase every bit as zealous as it was in the strip's heyday. For the comic's youngest fans, and for those who never stopped wishing for its return, here is an all-new, kid-friendly story for anyone who ever wanted to know the origin story of Bill the Cat. "Bloom County" has never been more fun!

Praise for The Bill the Cat Story

"The illustrations, a mixture of cartoons, eye-popping virtual paintings, and pencil sketches, will pull inquisitive audiences of all ages into the story."--Booklist

"[E]xtravagantly rendered artwork in luscious color."--Publishers Weekly

ISBN/SKU: 
9780399546624
0
Author: 
Publisher: 

Book of Mistakes

$18.99
Zoom meets Beautiful Oops! in this memorable picture book debut about the creative process, and the way in which "mistakes" can blossom into inspiration

One eye was bigger than the other. That was a mistake.
The weird frog-cat-cow thing? It made an excellent bush.
And the inky smudges... they look as if they were always meant to be leaves floating gently across the sky.

As one artist incorporates accidental splotches, spots, and misshapen things into her art, she transforms her piece in quirky and unexpected ways, taking readers on a journey through her process. Told in minimal, playful text, this story shows readers that even the biggest "mistakes" can be the source of the brightest ideas--and that, at the end of the day, we are all works in progress, too.
Fans of Peter Reynolds's Ish and Patrick McDonnell's A Perfectly Messed-Up Story will love the funny, poignant, completely unique storytelling of The Book of Mistakes. And, like Oh, The Places You'll Go!, it makes the perfect graduation gift, encouraging readers to have a positive outlook as they learn to face life's obstacles.
ISBN/SKU: 
9780735227927
0
Author: 
Publisher: 

Bunny's Book Club

$17.99
Join Bunny for a top-secret trip to the library in a story that celebrates the love of reading!
Bunny loves to sit outside the library with the kids and listen to summer story time. But when the weather gets cold and everyone moves inside, his daily dose of joy is gone. Desperate, Bunny refuses to miss out on any more reading time and devises a plan to sneak into the library at night . . . through the library's book drop!
What follows is an adorable caper that brings an inquisitive, fuzzy bunny and his woodland pals up close and personal with the books they have grown to love. A warm celebration of the power of books, Bunny's Book Club is sure to bring knowing smiles to any child, parent, teacher, bookseller, and librarian who understands the one-of-a-kind magic of reading.

"A sweet salute to reading."--Kirkus
"Silvestro's debut picture book is a love letter to the pleasures of reading and libraries, and Mai-Wyss's colorful illustrations are endearing and comforting . . . A lovely and fun addition for every library."--School Library Journal

"[Annie Silvestro] makes the pleasures of reading abundantly clear."--Publishers Weekly

"Mai-Wyss' soft, muted watercolor scenes sprinkled with charming, expressive cuddly animals is the perfect complement to Silvestro's enchanting story about the love of books."--Booklist

"will make readers of all ages smile."--Shelf Awareness

ISBN/SKU: 
9780553537581
Publication Date: 
2017-02-07
0

Cat in the Hat Comes Back!

$9.99
Back in 1957, Theodor Geisel responded to an article in Life magazine that lamented the use of boring reading primers in schools. Using the pseudonym of "Dr. Seuss" (Seuss was Geisel's middle name) and only two hundred twenty-three words, Geisel created a replacement for those dull primers: "The Cat in the Hat." The instant success of the book prompted Geisel and his wife to found Beginner Books, and Geisel wrote many popular books in this series, including "Hop on Pop, " "Fox in Socks, " and "Green Eggs and Ham." Other favorite titles in this series are "Go, Dog, Go!" and "Are You My Mother?" by P. D. Eastman, "A Fly Went By, " by Mike McClintock, and "Put Me in the Zoo, " by Robert Lopshire. These affordable hardcover books combine large print, easy vocabulary, and large, bright illustrations in stories kids will want to read again and again. Grades 1 - Grades 2.
ISBN/SKU: 
9780394800028
0

Cat Named Swan

$17.99
Discover this beautiful pet-adoption story from Holly Hobbie, the creator of the bestselling Toot & Puddle series and one of the most treasured children's illustrators of all time.
Beloved author-illustrator Holly Hobbie presents the story of a rescue cat's adoption, the paradise he finds, and the transformative joy he brings to his new family. Holly Hobbie's intricate watercolors evoke the small kitten's hardscrabble life as powerfully as they do his blissful one. This story tugs the heartstrings and is a testament to the importance of pet adoption and the powerful ways that pets connect with their people.
ISBN/SKU: 
9780553537444
Publication Date: 
2017-02-28
0